If you own a business, you are aware that there are certain rules and regulations that have been put into place to protect you and your employees. These guidelines, which are also known as compliance assistance, are put into place by the federal government. This includes labor laws that are enforced under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
In order to help you better understand, here are three labor laws established by the FLSA.
1. Minimum Wage
If you are an employer in the private or public sector, you are required to pay your employees a minimum wage. As of 2019, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. Some employees, such as those who receive tips on the job, are exempt from getting paid minimum wage.
Also, there are certain states that have a higher minimum wage. For example, in Arizona and Maine, the minimum wage is $11 an hour. The highest minimum wage of $14 an hour is paid to employees in Washington, D.C. As an employer, you are required to know the minimum wage for your state.
In most cases, whenever an employee is required to work over 40 hours a week, they should receive overtime wages. The overtime pay rate is one-and-a-half times the hourly wage. For example, if you pay your employer $10 an hour, the overtime rate would be $15 an hour.
There are certain kinds of employees that are exempt from getting paid overtime. These exempt employees include certain computer employees and outside sales employees. Some employers pay the overtime rate when their employees work on certain holidays, but this is not required by law.
3. Child Labor
Employers need to recognize that there are child labor laws that prevent them from hiring those who are not considered old enough to work. Many jobs have an age requirement of at least 14 years old. However, this doesn't necessarily mean that a 14-year-old can work full-time hours. During the school year, both 14 and 15-year-olds cannot work more than 18 hours a week.
When it comes to 16- and 17-year olds, there are usually no limits as to how many hours they can work. Employers should recognize that for certain jobs, applicants must be at least 18 years old.
If an employee complains that you are not following these guidelines, you may be subject to an investigation. If it turns out you have been unfairly accused of breaking any labor laws, FLSA Attorney Services can help.